ASE Announces New Officers, Governors for 2011

Release date: 12/14/2010

Corporate officers and governors announced.

LEESBURG, Va., December 14, 2010 – The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) today announced the officers for its Board of Directors for 2011. John Pfennig, Manager Service Education for Navistar, Inc. in Warrenville, Ill., continues as Chairman, with Mike Phillips, V.P, Organizational Development, NAPA Auto Parts/Genuine Parts Company, Atlanta, Ga., as Vice Chairman. Rob Barto, Manager, Technical Training Design, Nissan North America, Franklin, Tenn., as Treasurer, and Glenn Dahl, Senior Coordinator, Technical Education, Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC, Bloomington, Ill., as Secretary. Joe Torchiana, President, One Stop Tire and Auto Service, Inc. West Chester, Pa., continues as Past Chair.

“2011 is a transition year for the ASE certification program as we offer our final written tests and complete the move to an all-Computer Based Testing (CBT) format,” said Tim Zilke, ASE President. “The leadership and guidance of the ASE board has been instrumental in helping to ensure the success of the most significant change to the ASE program in the organization’s history. We are grateful for the outstanding support by the companies that encourage such talented people to serve on ASE’s all-volunteer board and for their commitment to improving our industry.”

Also announced were newly elected members to ASE’s Board of Governors, representing various segments of the industry such as manufacturing/distribution, service employees, service employers and more. The new Governors are: Tom Trisdale, Technical Information & Diagnostics Manager, Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Torrance, Calif.; Michael Hance, VP Fleet Operations, Corporate Automotive Department, UPS, Atlanta, Ga.; Annette Sykora, Dealer Principal, Smith South Plains Ford, Lincoln, Dodge, Chrysler & Jeep, Levelland, Texas, and Keith Kocourek, President, Kocourek Chevrolet, Inc, Wausau, Wisc.

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing Board members for their service over the years,” Zilke continued. Stepping down as their terms expire are Kris Mayer, Director Aftersales, General Motors Corporation; John Jardine, President, Johnstons Toyota, and Bill Wolf, President, Wolf Chevrolet Sales, Inc. Also leaving the ASE board is Roger Foss, Toyota Motor Sales, USA, who assumes his new role as Chairman of the Automotive Youth Educational Services (AYES). “Each of these individuals devoted countless hours to the betterment of our industry and the thousands of automotive service professionals who proudly wear the ASE Blue Seal. We thank them for their service and wish them continued success.”

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence was established in 1972 as a non-profit organization to help improve the quality of automotive service and repair through the voluntary testing and certification of automotive technicians and parts specialists. Today, there are nearly 400,000 ASE- certified professionals at work in dealerships, independent shops, collision repair shops, auto parts stores, fleets, schools and colleges throughout the country. For more information about ASE, visit the website at

For more information:

Tony Molla: (703) 669-6614

Press Release Archives