ASE Announces New Officers for 2015

Release date: 1/8/2015

ASE names officers for its Board of Directors and elects new additions to its Board of Governors.

LEESBURG, VA, January 8, 2015 – The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) announced the officers for its Board of Directors for 2015, and elected new additions to its Board of Governors. Greg Gaulin, Owner, Gaulin’s of Williamsville, NY, is Chairman; Mike Durkin, General Director, Retail Dealer Channel, GM Customer Care & Aftersales for General Motors, Warren, Mich., is Vice-Chairman; Jeff Walker, Owner, Walker’s Automotive Service in Pleasantville, NJ, is Treasurer, and Ted Hayes, Owner, Hayes Automotive, is Secretary. Glenn Dahl, Education Director-South Division, Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC, Bloomingdale, Ill., serves as Past Chairman.

“We welcome our new Governors and thank Glenn for his invaluable counsel and guidance in his role as Chairman,” said Tim Zilke, ASE President & CEO. “The leadership of the ASE board is vital to ensuring the ASE Certification program keeps pace with our changing industry. We are grateful for the commitment of ASE’s all-volunteer board, and the ongoing support of ASE’s mission by the companies that encourage such talented people to work through ASE for the betterment of our entire industry. With the participation of such outstanding people, ASE will continue to improve the high-quality certification program our automotive professionals rely on to demonstrate their knowledge and commitment to excellence.”

“I’d also like to offer our sincere thanks to outgoing board member Stan Elmore, President of Stan’s Automotive in Lafayette, CO, for his service over the years,” Zilke continued. “Stan was among the board members who helped guide us through the transition to computer-based testing.  His time on the board demonstrated a significant commitment for the betterment and benefit of our industry and the thousands of automotive service professionals who proudly wear the ASE Blue Seal. We thank Stan for his service and wish him continued success.”

Joining the ASE Board of Governors for 2015 are Jamie Bullis, Lead Technician & SAFE Trainer at Firestone Complete Auto Care in Shakopee, Minnesota; Jeff Coffey, Owner of Coffey Automotive in St. Charles, Missouri, and Homer Hogg, Technical Training Manager, Travel Centers of America, in Nashville, Tennessee.

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence was established in 1972 as a non-profit organization to help improve the quality of automotive service and repair through the voluntary testing and certification of automotive technicians and parts specialists. Today, there are more than 300,000 ASE-certified professionals at work in dealerships, independent shops, collision repair shops, auto parts stores, fleets, schools and colleges throughout the country. For more information about ASE, visit the Web site at

Press Release Archives