ASE Industry Education Alliance Recognizes Outstanding Instructors at Annual Conference

Release date: 8/24/2016

August 24, 2016, Leesburg, VA – The ASE Industry Education Alliance held its 3rd annual instructor conference last month in Concord, NC. With more than 300 automotive instructors, industry trainers and leaders in attendance, the conference offered three full days of training that count toward an instructor’s NATEF accreditation. Industry leaders, including both OEs and aftermarkets, supported the instructor conference, which ran from July 25th through 29th.

“We would like to thank the many sponsors and technical presenters who supported our 3rd Annual Instructor Training Conference,” said Trish Serratore, president of the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) and the Automotive Youth Educational Systems (AYES). “With their support, we were able to provide a world-class training event for our instructors. This results in students and graduates who are ready to enter the workforce because of the dedication of their instructors to continuous learning.”

Conference sponsors included: Toyota, Lexus, Bridgestone, Hendrick Automotive Group, Ingersoll Rand, Snap-on, Subaru, Blaster, CARQUEST, Gates, Garage Gurus, Maaco, CARSTAR, Meineke, CDX Automotive, Cengage Learning, Hunter Engineering Company and ATech.

“Toyota has been a proud sponsor of the ASE Industry Alliance Instructor Conference since its inception and we're excited to have the opportunity to provide valuable and relevant technical information needed for an instructor to do his or her job,” said Ron Kato, Toyota Technical & High-Tech Training Manager, “The passion and excitement these instructors share in classrooms across the country will inspire the next generation of technicians who enter the field.  We thank you for your dedication and look forward to supporting the conference again next year!”
Brent Berman, Director of Training and Consumer Experience at Federal-Mogul, added, "Federal-Mogul Motorparts’ Garage Gurus program is all about leading-edge training in the continuously evolving automotive service industry. We’re proud to sponsor the conference, because it’s all about empowering trainers and technical schools across North America that help shape the next generation of professional automotive service technicians.”
During the conference, the Alliance also recognized 44 outstanding instructors working in Auto, Medium/Heavy, and Collision Technology training programs. This year's ASE Alliance Instructors represent secondary and post-secondary automotive programs in 22 states.

2016 ASE Alliance Instructor honorees are:

Gordon Allen Autauga County Tech. Ctr. Prattville AL
Chad Bryant Bevill State Comm. College - Hamilton Campus Winfield AL
Jennifer Andronas American River College Citrus Heights CA
Scott Hunter Bollman TEC Arvada CO
Clayton Bradley Forsyth Central High School Lawrenceville GA
Roger Cathey Dennis Tech. Ed. Ctr. Boise ID
John Connor Dennis Tech. Ed. Ctr. Meridian ID
Daryl Oliver Caddo Career and Tech. Ctr. Shreveport LA
Robert Allard Tri-County RVTHS Douglas MA
John Parris Bristol Plymouth Reg.Tech Berkley MA
Cliff Worthley Worcester Technical High School Lunenburg MA
Hunter Havel Hancock County Technical Center Bucksport ME
Nathan Vannest Kent Career Technical Center Grand Rapids MI
Matthew Rannila Denfeld High School Duluth MN
Terence Drummond Career and Tech. Ed. Ctr. Mebane NC
David Jones Person High School Roxboro NC
Roger Pressley Brewer High School Monroe NC
Raymond Danner Warren County Technical High-School Phillipsburg NJ
Daniel Gerne Passaic County Technical Institute Lincoln Park NJ
Scott Tessier Capital Region Career & Tech School Saratoga Springs NY
Michael Beirise Kettering Fairmont High School Kettering OH
Harold Chance Fairfield Career Center Westerville OH
Anthony Josey Great Plains Tech. Ctr. Apache OK
Royce Sanders Southern Oklahoma Tech. Ctr. Wilson OK
Daniel Perkins Chemeketa Comm. College Albany OR
Mike Castelli Central Westmoreland CTC Monroeville PA
Brian Pegg Central Westmoreland CTC Johnstown PA
Randy Schock Lehigh Career & Technical Institute Tamaqua PA
John Romano J. Harley Bonds Career Center Anderson SC
Stephen Sloan Golden Strip Career Center Simpsonville SC
George Dishman Lamar Consolidated High School Fresno TX
Gary Miller Cypress Creek High School Tomball TX
Jimmy Ornelas Galena Park High Baytown TX
Rene Reyna Jr. McAllen High school McAllen TX
Randle Thomas Cypress Falls High School Houston TX
John Riley Davis Applied Technology College Brigham City UT
James Bruce Virginia Beach Career & Tech. Ed. Ctr. Virginia Beach VA
Wayne Champigny Virginia Beach Career & Tech. Ed. Ctr. Virginia Beach VA
Joseph Henderson Chesterfield Technical Center Midlothian VA
Paul Johnson Charlottesville-Albemarle Tech. Ed. Ctr. (CATEC) Charlottesville VA
Thomas Mulligan Northampton High School Onancock VA
Dale Winchell Arlington Career Center Oak Hill VA
Mark Schultz Advanced Career Education Center @ Hermitage Glen Allen VA
Aaron Troxell Beloit Memorial High School Beloit WI
The ASE Alliance Instructor recognition showcases instructors who have set themselves apart on behalf of their students and career and technical education. ASE Alliance Instructors must be ASE certified Master technicians with at least 5 years teaching experience and must currently work at a NATEF accredited program. They must support their students in work-based learning assignments and participate in instructor training. Other qualifications and information about how to nominate an instructor are at

The ASE Industry Education Alliance is a group of organizations under the ASE umbrella providing a career resource from entry-level to retirement for automotive industry personnel and serves as a model for other industries. The ASE Industry Education Alliance consists of the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF), Automotive Youth Educational Systems (AYES), and the Automotive Training Managers Council (ATMC). For more information, visit the NATEF website at, or contact Trish Serratore at 703-669-6633, or

Press Release Archives