ASE Announces Officers & Governors for 2010

Release date: 12/4/2009

Corporate officers and governors announced.

LEESBURG, Va., December 4, 2009 - The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) today announced the officers for its Board of Directors for 2010. John Pfennig, Manager Service Education for Navistar, Inc. in Warrensville, Ill., was elected Chairman, with Roger Foss, National Field Support Manager, Toyota Customer Services, Toyota Motors Sales, USA, Torrance, Calif., as Vice Chair. Mike Phillips, V.P, Organizational Development, NAPA Auto Parts/Genuine Parts Company, Atlanta, Ga., was elected Treasurer, with Rob Barto, Manager, Technical Training Design, Nissan North America, Franklin, Tenn., as Secretary. Joe Torchiana, President, One Stop Tire and Auto Service, Inc. West Chester, Pa., assumes the role of Past Chair.

“ASE’s success rests, in part, on our industry embracing the goal of voluntary certification for service professionals,” said Tim Zilke, ASE President. “The outstanding support of the ASE program by the organizations that encourage such talented people to serve on our all-volunteer board demonstrates their commitment to improving our industry.”

Also announced were newly elected members to ASE’s Board of Governors, representing varioussegments of the industry such as manufacturing/distribution, service employees, service employers and more. The new Governors are: Monty Roberts, Personnel Recruiting and Retention Manager, BMW Group, Westwood, N.J.; Michael Durkin, Director, Dealer Service and Warranty Operations, General Motors, Grand Blanc, Mich.; Brian Watkins, Director of Training, Midas International, Itasca, Ill.; David Helge, VP Maintenance and Safety, Idealease, Inc., North Barrington, Ill.; Kevin Coogan, Master Diagnostic Specialist, Lexus of Thousand Oaks, Thousand Oaks, Calif., and David Fogle, Shop Foreman, Baker Motor Company, Charleston, S.C.

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing Board members for their service over the years,” Zilke continued. Stepping down as their terms expired was Rod Davis, VP Dispute Resolution, Council of Better Business Bureaus; John Brekke, Technician at Go Toyota Arapahoe; Jim Uffer, President of Truck Tech, Inc. and Bill Willis, President of Willis GM Automall & Willis Ford, Inc. “Each of these individuals devoted countless hours to the betterment of our industry and the thousands of automotive service professionals who proudly wear the ASE Blue Seal. We thank them for their service and wish them continued success.”

Incorporated on June 12, 1972, the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence was established as a non-profit organization to help improve the quality of automotive service and repair through the voluntary testing and certification of automotive technicians and parts specialists. Today, there are nearly 400,000 ASE-certified professionals at work in dealerships, independent shops, service stations, collision repair shops, auto parts stores, fleets, machine shops, schools and colleges throughout the country. For more information about ASE, visit the visit the website at

For more information:

Tony Molla: (703) 669-6614

Press Release Archives